Leibniz-Institut für Werkstofforientierte Technologien - IWT Bremen

Welcome to Leibniz-IWT.

Research on material-oriented future technologies.

*****UPDATE CORONA VIRUS*****
 
Due to the current risk assessment with regard to the corona virus, presence at the Leibniz-IWT is still limited. Some of your contact partners are already working on site again, others continue to work from home. All employees can be reached electronically, preferably by e-mail. The telephone switchboards of Leibniz-IWT (0421/218-51400) and MPA (0421/53708-0) are also manned and will be happy to help you with general enquiries.

 

Since 1950, research has been conducted at Leibniz-IWT in Bremen on highly stressed metallic structural materials.

At Leibniz-IWT, material engineering, process engineering and production engineering competences are combined in one institute.

This interdisciplinary cooperation enables the scientists to map and research overarching issues of high practical relevance of highly stressed components along the entire process chain.

Events

Show all
2020 / October

20. Oct. 2020

Conferences and Exhibitions
HK 2020 Materials - Processes - Products - ONLINE

Scientific Priorities / Scientific Departments

  • Additive Manufacturing
  • Materials Science
  • Manufacturing Technologies
  • Process & Chemical Engineering
  • Institute for Materials Testing

Alloys, powder production, 3D printing

Additive Manufacturing

The cross-process chain consideration of the production of highly stressed metallic components has been an important element of the research strategy of Leibniz-IWT for many years. Thanks to the interdisciplinary competences at Leibniz-IWT, the entire process chain for additive manufacturing, from alloy development and powder production to quality-assured high-strength components, can be represented.

  • Additive Manufacturing
  • Materials Science
  • Manufacturing Technologies
  • Process & Chemical Engineering
  • Institute for Materials Testing

Materials Science

Materials Science

Our material engineering expertise includes heat treatment of metals, surface technology, characterization of material structure, mechanical material properties and optimization of material properties for operational use. In addition, we carry out tests and investigations of damage claims and provide advice and expert opinions for industry, authorities and private individuals.

  • Additive Manufacturing
  • Materials Science
  • Manufacturing Technologies
  • Process & Chemical Engineering
  • Institute for Materials Testing

Manufacturing Technologies

Manufacturing Technologies

Our production engineering expertise includes the determination of the interactions in separating (cutting) and forming processes. The focus is on the design of process chains and process integration in production engineering, process-related quality testing and production measurement technology, process simulation and the development of principles and processes for the manufacture of innovative products in microtechnology, medical technology and aerospace technology.

  • Additive Manufacturing
  • Materials Science
  • Manufacturing Technologies
  • Process & Chemical Engineering
  • Institute for Materials Testing

Process & Chemical Engineering

Process & Chemical Engineering

Our process engineering expertise includes the production, processing, modelling and characterisation of particles in the gas phase, reactive and non-reactive spray and layer formation processes (e.g. flame spray pyrolysis, spray compacting, powder production, spray cooling), in combination with process simulation and optimisation using multiphase models as well as process and particle characterisation using electromagnetic waves.

  • Additive Manufacturing
  • Materials Science
  • Manufacturing Technologies
  • Process & Chemical Engineering
  • Institute for Materials Testing

Institute for Materials Testing

Institute for Materials Testing

The Institute of Materials Testing offers services and research in the field of materials and building material testing and damage analysis. Our competencies include testing, monitoring, certification, asbestos testing, monument preservation research, recycling and recovery of valuable materials in the building industry, cryo-microscopy, damage analysis.

Jobs

Show all

Leibniz-Institut für Werkstofforientierte Technologien - IWT Bremen

Herzlich willkommen am Leibniz-IWT.

Wir forschen an werkstofforientierten Zukunftstechnologien.

*****UPDATE CORONA-VIRUS*****

Aufgrund der aktuellen Risikoeinschätzung in Bezug auf das Corona-Virus ist der Präsenzbetrieb am Leibniz-IWT weiterhin eingeschränkt. Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen und -partner arbeiten zum Teil bereits wieder vor Ort, zum Teil weiterhin von zu Hause. Alle Mitarbeitenden sind auf elektronischem Wege – bevorzugt per E-Mail – erreichbar. Ebenfalls besetzt sind die Telefonzentralen des Leibniz-IWT (0421/218-51400) und der MPA (0421/53708-0), die Ihnen gerne mit allgemeinen Anliegen weiterhelfen.

Seit 1950 wird am Leibniz-IWT in Bremen an hochbeanspruchten metallischen Strukturwerkstoffen geforscht.

Im Leibniz-IWT finden sich werkstofftechnische, verfahrenstechnische und fertigungstechnische Kompetenzen in einem Institut.

Diese interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit ermöglicht den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, übergreifende Fragestellungen hoher Praxisrelevanz hochbeanspruchter Bauteile entlang der gesamten Prozesskette abzubilden und zu erforschen.

Veranstaltungen

Alle anzeigen
2020 / November

11. Nov. 2020

AWT - Seminare
Carbonitrieren in Theorie und Praxis

25. Nov. 2020

AWT - Seminare
Plasmanitrieren und Plasmanitrocarburieren

25. Nov. 2020

AWT - Seminare
Randschichthärten

Forschungsschwerpunkte / Hauptabteilungen

  • Additive Fertigung
  • Werkstofftechnik
  • Fertigungstechnik
  • Verfahrenstechnik
  • Materialprüfungsanstalt

Legierungen, Pulver erzeugen, 3D Drucken

Additive Fertigung

Die prozesskettenübergreifende Betrachtung der Fertigung hochbeanspruchter metallischer Bauteile ist seit vielen Jahren ein wichtiges Element der Forschungsstrategie des Leibniz-IWT. Durch die disziplinübergreifenden Kompetenzen am Leibniz-IWT kann die gesamte Prozesskette zur additiven Fertigung von der Legierungsentwicklung, über die Pulvererzeugung bis hin zum qualitätsgesicherten hochfesten Bauteil abgebildet werden.

  • Additive Fertigung
  • Werkstofftechnik
  • Fertigungstechnik
  • Verfahrenstechnik
  • Materialprüfungsanstalt

Werkstofftechnik

Werkstofftechnik

Unsere werkstofftechnischen Kompetenzen umfassen die Wärmebehandlung von Metallen, Oberflächentechnologie, Charakterisierung der Materialstruktur, mechanische Werkstoffeigenschaften sowie die Optimierung der Werkstoffeigenschaften für den betrieblichen Einsatz. Darüber hinaus führen wir Prüfungen und Untersuchungen von Schadensfällen durch und beraten und erstellen Gutachten für Industrie, Behörden und Privatpersonen

  • Additive Fertigung
  • Werkstofftechnik
  • Fertigungstechnik
  • Verfahrenstechnik
  • Materialprüfungsanstalt

Fertigungstechnik

Fertigungstechnik

Unsere fertigungstechnischen Kompetenzen umfassen die Ermittlung der Wirkzusammenhänge bei trennenden (spanenden) und umformenden Verfahren. Die Schwerpunkte liegen dabei auf dem Entwurf von Prozessketten und fertigungstechnische Verfahrensintegration, prozessnaher Qualitätsprüfung und Fertigungsmesstechnik, Prozesssimulation sowie auf der Entwicklung von Grundlagen und Verfahren zur Herstellung innovativer Produkte der Mikrotechnik, Medizintechnik sowie der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik

  • Additive Fertigung
  • Werkstofftechnik
  • Fertigungstechnik
  • Verfahrenstechnik
  • Materialprüfungsanstalt

Verfahrenstechnik

Verfahrenstechnik

Unsere verfahrenstechnische Kompetenzen umfassen die Herstellung, Verarbeitung, Modellierung und Charakterisierung von Partikeln in der Gasphase, reaktive und nicht-reaktive Sprüh- und Schichtbildungsprozesse (z.B. Flammensprühpyrolyse, Sprühkompaktieren, Pulverherstellung, Sprühkühlung), in Kombination mit der Prozesssimulation und –optimierung mit Hilfe von Mehrphasenmodellen sowie der Prozess- und Partikelcharakterisierung durch elektromagnetische Wellen.

  • Additive Fertigung
  • Werkstofftechnik
  • Fertigungstechnik
  • Verfahrenstechnik
  • Materialprüfungsanstalt

Materialprüfungsanstalt

Materialprüfungsanstalt

Die Amtliche Materialprüfungsanstalt bietet Serviceleistungen und Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Werkstoff- und Baustoffprüfung sowie der Schadensanalytik an. Unsere Kompetenzen umfassen Prüfen, Überwachen, Zertifizieren, Asbestuntersuchungen, Denkmalpflegeforschung, Recycling und Wertstoffverwertung im Bauwesen, Cryo-Mikroskopie, Schadensanalyse.